Successful Cooking Trials with Freekeh – A New Green Wheat!

IMG_20150728_120316

Through FitApproach & SweatPink, I was given the opportunity to review a new food product – Freekeh Foods – this month, provided to me for free (all opinions are my own).  I love cooking so saying yes to this chance was a no-brainer.

What’s the story behind Freekeh Foods?
Freekeh, a roasted green-wheat, was discovered approximately 2,000 years ago when besiegers of a Middle Eastern village set the local green wheat crop on fire. The villagers tried to salvage the wheat by rubbing off the charred outer layers of the wheat and it worked! That’s how Freekeh, roasted green wheat was discovered.

Freekeh Foods offers three flavors: Original, Rosemary Sage and Tamari.

My Experience
I received two samples in the mail. One Original and one Rosemary & Sage Freekeh package.

The instructions were straight forward. It takes about 20 minutes total to cook the Freekeh. Combine one package with 2 1/2 cups of water or veggie/chicken broth (which I usually prefer) in a pot, bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer (with lid covering pot) until the liquid has been absorbed by the grains. And voila! You’ve got cooked Freekeh.

Original Freekeh
To start off, I cooked with the original package on purpose because I really wanted to test out the flavor of the Freekeh. And I was impressed! The deliciously nutty flavor mixed with the chewy but also crunchy texture really go well together.

IMG_20150804_141718
To pair up with the Freekeh, I cooked tofu, red & yellow bell peppers, onion and kale together in olive oil with a bit of chili powder, lots of basil and a pinch of salt.

I’m really looking forward to cooking the Rosemary & Sage Freekeh later on – just can’t decide what to pair it with! Too many choices haha…

Like the sound of Freekeh and want to give it a try? Then you’re in luck! I’ve also been given the chance to give away a package of Freekeh to one lucky reader — flavor is the winner’s choice!  Click Here
to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway (US Residents only)!

Disclosure: This post was sponsored by Freekeh Foods. I received two packages of Freekeh for free to review. All opinions expressed in this post are my own.

2 thoughts on “Successful Cooking Trials with Freekeh – A New Green Wheat!

Leave a Reply

