Refocusing on Proper Hydration

IMG_20150923_002035

As I sit here in my dorm pondering how to begin today’s late night post (it’s midnight in London), I can’t help but want to start by briefly explaining how I came to write on this subject of hydration (yet again). For the past few days, I’ve had moments where I suddenly remember that yes, I have indeed set healthy living and fitness goals and am ready to focus on them. But then either something comes up, making me lose my train of thought, or I simply lack motivation in the moment; as a result, I never implement steps to help achieve those goals. So this post is basically a way of reaffirming my commitment to healthy living, by evaluating my hydration situation.

Now, I do understand how important water is to our bodies. Not only is it essential for survival, but it’s crucial to staying optimally functional and healthy. So why haven’t I been consuming enough of it in the past two weeks?

I keep reminding myself that it is something that I cannot forget about or put on the back-burner, yet I still manage to overlook it. It’s partly because between all of the traveling, moving, and adjusting to London that has been taking place recently, I haven’t really had the chance to monitor or evaluate my nutrition intake. When I do feel thirsty, I often opt for a hot tea because, well, it’s really cold here in the UK compared to the west coast, so I crave warm beverages over cold ones. But I don’t think hot tea is as hydrating as plain water because of the caffeine that comes in the tea leaves. And while I’ve been trying to avoid eating too many chocolates, biscuits, pastries, etc., I haven’t been so great with meals. The past few days have been full of a lot of bread and cheese.

Doubling down and focusing on my healthy living goals has become a more prominent aspiration today because I can feel the effects of dehydration. I’m feeling tired all the time, can’t get out of bed in the morning, and lose motivation to get work done each day.  And since I’m about to take on an intensive course studying at a post-graduate level, I really cannot allow myself to let my health fall to the wayside. If I stay healthy and active, it’ll positively impact my work capabilities and studying, rather than take away from them.

That is why today, I went and bought myself two large bottles of water to tide me over until I can find a nice reusable water bottle to take with me everywhere. One is sitting on my desk right now where I will always see it.  If the bottle is in my line of sight constantly, I’m more likely to consistently drink the water.

So that’s that. I’m going to actively focus on consuming more H2O to improve my mental clarity, fuel my body naturally, and support my healthy living goals. And I’ll start by finishing this glass of water before heading to bed.

Goodnight y’all!
~ The Healthy Lioness

Leave a Reply

