Why I LOVE Quinoa

  
My friends know it. My roommates especially know it. My family knows it. I adore quinoa.

You may be wondering at this point, ‘why exactly?’ 

I guess because it was a new ingredient/food that I discovered while trying to incorporate more protein-rich foods into my diet (as a vegetarian, I was finding it a bit difficult on a day-to-day basis). I can’t remember where I first heard about quinoa, but it was probably either a food blog or a health magazine somewhere. When I realized that it was a healthier alternative to rice and bread, I thought, I’d better try that out.

The first time I cooked with it, I used water and it wasn’t particularly flavorful. I think I also just threw in some sautéed veggies and maybe a sprinkle or two of black pepper. (I have since learned to experiment and liberally use my spices and sauces ;)). Instead of shoving the remaining quinoa to the back of my cabinet, I picked up a carton of veggie broth on my way home later that week and cooked it again. Boy, was that a good decision!  The broth made all the difference for me. Ever since then, quinoa has become a kitchen staple.

The top reason why I make it all the time is definitely the ease in cooking it. All you have to do is add two portions of liquid (veggie broth or water, your choice) to one portion of quinoa. So 2 cups of veggie broth to 1 cup of quinoa will create a yummy and fully cooked pot of quinoa.

Last week, while cooking dinner, I even boiled a portion of it specifically for lunch the next day. I let it cool, popped it into tupperware and left it in the fridge overnight. Before heading to campus in the morning, I just added in balsamic vinaigrette, grape tomatoes, basil and feta cheese for a simple, healthy ‘packed’ lunch.  But it’s also tasty when mixed in and cooked with sauces or tossed over with veggies for an easy stir-fry. 

So readers, have you tried quinoa? Are you a fan? Do you have any recipes you’d recommend?! I’d love to here your thoughts. 🙂

~ Here’s to tasty cooking adventures,

The Healthy Lioness

6 thoughts on “Why I LOVE Quinoa

  1. I LOVE quinoa too! I make big batches to leave in the fridge for reheating on-the-go all the time! My favorite right now is breakfast quinoa. With honey, fruit, and nuts. Or chocolate chips, fruit and nuts. Or chocolate chips and peanut butter with a banana. mmmmm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

