Updating My Nighttime Routine

IMG_20151021_221541(British spellings look so quirky, but I guess I should get used to them!)

Over the past few weeks, I’ve had quite a bit of trouble getting a good night’s sleep each evening. Not only has it been difficult to fall asleep, but waking up constantly has made my nights (and as a result, my days) extremely frustrating.

So I’ve decided to take action.

By making 4 key changes to my evening habit, I’m hoping to make it a little easier for my body and mind to wind down.

Chamomile Tea
Following the example of my tea-loving mom, I’m drinking a hot cup of chamomile tea before bedtime. It’s supposed to be helpful in de-stressing the body.

Turning off Electronics
My daylight hours are already over-stimulated by news, videos and music delivered through digital screens, so I think it’s a good idea to stop the flow of information at least two hours before bedtime.

Instead, I’m planning on reading a few chapters from a novel – a fun, pleasurable read to contrast all of the studious (but usually interesting) texts I focus on during the day. 😉

Hot Shower
I’ve always heard that a hot shower is better for promoting sleep because it helps to relax the body. So instead of using warm water, I’m going to adopt hot water for at least 4 or 5 minutes during evening showers.

Yoga
Lately, my workout regimen has mainly included 20 min. sessions done in the comfort of my room a few times per week, but I’m hoping to get back into yoga. That’s why I’ve resolved to start off with some calming poses before bed. All I need is to do first is pick up a yoga mat from a local store on my next shopping trip.

While these changes may not seem drastic, I’m hoping they’ll be effective tweaks to my nighttime routine.

Do you have any tips for promoting restful sleep?

~ The Healthy Lioness

Leave a Reply

