Winding Down for 2015

We’re more than halfway through December, so close to Christmas Day and inching up on New Years! Who else is excited and indulging in all of the seasonal delicacies, including those holiday coffee drinks?

I, for one, am ecstatic to be home in California for the holidays. While I am sad that I won’t be able to experience London on Christmas Day and New Years, absolutely nothing beats being home with my family, cooking and relaxing.  I’m especially excited to have that apple pie I missed for Thanksgiving, proper peppermint mochas and delicious home-cooked Indian food.

Another benefit of being back home is having the opportunity to re-evaluate my eating situation. After having a tense last few weeks working on final assignments for the fall term, and battling an unfortunate cold/infection, I let my healthy eating slip away in favor of comforting foods. Now there’s nothing wrong with that – but I don’t want to continue this, especially in the New Year.

I find the one thing that works best for me is to simply not buy junk food at the grocery store. If it’s not in my room or in the kitchen, I won’t be tempted. But if those biscuits, crisps and chocolates are there, and I know they’re within reach, they’ll be gone quicker than you could imagine ;). But of course, if I’m out with friends, I definitely allow myself the occasional treat.

What else am I doing to wind down for 2015? — Watching live television with my parents, reading, going to the movies with my brother, showering love on my dog and cat, and trying to get rid of the remaining cold still lingering in my body. O and trying out some new (healthy) holiday baking recipes. 🙂

Here’s to a peaceful holiday season everyone!
~ The Healthy Lioness

Leave a Reply

