Hello June | #UltimateCoffeeDate

IMG_20160526_124840

Hey friends, it’s the first Saturday of the month so here’s another #UltimateCoffeeDate chat to get us all caught up about what we’ve been doing lately.  Thanks to Lynda, Coco, and Deborah for hosting this awesome blog link-up!

Ok, here goes…Let’s imagine ourselves sitting down at a quirky, hipster-meets-vintage-library cafe down a small side street in urban London.  I’d probably order a small mocha — who can’t resist mixing coffee with cocoa? — and maybe a blueberry muffin to go with it.

Now, while we catch up over coffee, I’d like to share…

That I’ve started running! Albeit very slowly. I’m mixing short bursts of running and walking to gently adjust my body to running using a C25K app. After taking that first step, I feel pretty great knowing I’m investing in my body’s health.

Secondly, I’d like to share…

That I’ve come to realization that the last eight months have been the most challenging of my life.

When I initially pictured life halfway across the world in England, I didn’t expect each day to bring sunshine and roses per se.  But I also hadn’t expected to be thrust out of my comfort zone in so many ways. From missing home, to dealing with health issues, and questioning life decisions, it’s been a complete whirlwind.

However, now that I’m in the homestretch of my studies, I can look back and see that what I’ve accomplished so far was pretty terrific. I’m well on my way to having spent an entire year in a different country, interacting with a unique culture, and ultimately learning more about myself as a person than I probably would have done if I’d stayed in California right after graduating.

Lastly, I’d like to share…

I recently discovered the delicious goodness of homemade baked sweet potato fries. And I’m addicted. Throw the slices together with some coconut oil, sea salt, black pepper and paprika and bake for a healthy, tasty side dish.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you have a very rewarding month. It’s officially summer! Go out and make the most of the sun, wherever you may be.

~ The Healthy Lioness

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hello June | #UltimateCoffeeDate

  1. I am completely with you on the sweet potato fries! So good! Well done on starting the C25k programme! I really need to get my bum in gear and do the same. London has a great running community (sadly, I am in Devon, where there isn’t quite the same community).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful experience living away from home and in another country. Sounds like you are adjusting and as expected will be home sick and missing life here. You are completing your studies? Does that mean you will venture back to the states when done? Sweet potato fries are great, we love making them. Have a wonderful weekend and thank you for taking time to have coffee with us. Do you take any photos of your area that you can share on your blog?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I’m finishing up my studies, hoping to be done by the Fall. And indeed, the plan is to return home and start a career – once I find a job haha! And I do have photos; I’ll work on that as my next blog project!
      Thanks for stopping by — I really love this linkup and reading everyone’s stories over coffee. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

